About Faridpur District

Geography of Faridpur

It is under Dhaka division. The area of this district is 2072.72 km2 and bounded by rajbari and manikganj districts on the north, gopalganj district on the south, dhaka, munshiganj and madaripur districts on the east, narail, magura and rajbari districts on the west. The soil of this region is so fertile because of alluvial soil of padma, although once upon a time the district consisted mainly of depression based marshland. Main rivers are Padma, Old Kumar, arial khan, Gorai, Chandana, Bhubanshwar and Lohartek; main depressions are Dhol Samudra, Beel Ramkeli, Shakuner Beel, Ghoradar Beel. Average highest temperature 35.8°C and lowest 12.6°C; annual rainfall is 1546 mm. Faridpur (Town) stands on both sides of the Kumar.
Faridpur district is divided into the following upazilas:
1. Faridpur Sadar Upazila
2. Boalmari Upazila
3. Alfadanga Upazila
4. Madhukhali Upazila
5. Bhanga Upazila
6. Nagarkanda Upazila
7. Char Bhadrasan Upazila
8. Sadarpur Upazila

Religion in Faridpur District

The district of Faridpur consists mosques, temples, Buddhist temples and churches.

Religion Percent
Restaurant of Faridpur

More Information

No. of voters
No. of Village
No of Union
Literacy Rate
Govt. College
Government Primary Schools
Government High Schools
Railway Station
Police Station
No. of Post office
Postal code
Major Crops