About Narayanganj District

Geography of Narayanganj

Narayanganj District is bounded by Gazipur and Narsingdi Districts on the north, Brahmanbaria and Comilla Districts on the east, Munshiganj District on the south, and Dhaka District on the west. Geologically, the area lies on the edge of the Madhupur Tract and Holocene floodplain deposits form the aquifer. The total area of the district is 759.57 km², of which 48.56 km². is riverine and 0.60 km² is under forest. The district lies between 23°33' and 23°57' north latitude and between 90°26' and 90°45' east longitude.
The city of Narayanganj has a population of 1.5 million and is located some twenty kilometers southeast of Dhaka, the national capital, on the flat Ganges Delta and alluvial plain. The Shitalakshya River divides the town into two parts, the Narayanganj Municipal Area and Kadam Rasul Municipal Area. This area is crossed by many small artificial canals fed by monsoon rain. Average annual rainfall is 2550 mm, 80 to 90% of which occurs between May and October.

Religion in Narayanganj District

The district of Narayanganj consists mosques, temples, Buddhist temples and churches.

Religion Percent
Restaurant of Narayanganj

More Information

No. of voters
No. of Village
No of Union
Literacy Rate
Govt. College
Government Primary Schools
Government High Schools
Railway Station
Police Station
No. of Post office
Postal code
Major Crops