About Rangpur District

Geography of Rangpur

Rangpur District is bordered on the north by Nilphamari District, on the south by Gaibandha District, on the east by Kurigram, and on the west by Dinajpur district. Rangpur town is the district headquarters.
The district has 3 municipalities, namely, Rangpur Main (Sadar), Badarganj, and Kaunia, and eight Upazilas, namely:
* Badarganj
* Gangachara
* Kaunia
* Rangpur Sadar
* Mithapukur
* Pirgachha
* Pirganj
* Taraganj

Rangpur town, covering an area of around 43 square kilometers, lies on the bank of the Little Ghaghat River, and was turned into a municipality back in 1869. The population of the Rangpur municipality as of 2006 is 251,699, with 52% male and 48% female, and the literacy rate is 54.6%.
The soil composition is mainly alluvial soil (80%) of the Teesta River basin, and the remaining is barind soil. The temperature ranges from 32 degrees Celsius to 11 degrees Celsius, and the annual rainfall averages 2931 mm.

Religion in Rangpur District

The district of Rangpur consists mosques, temples, Buddhist temples and churches.

Religion Percent
Restaurant of Rangpur

More Information

No. of voters
No. of Village
No of Union
Literacy Rate
Govt. College
Government Primary Schools
Government High Schools
Railway Station
Police Station
No. of Post office
Postal code
Major Crops